Home > Services > Software Development > Software Test Management

To achieve software quality standards, TechAges adopts a comprehensive test-management life cycle. The software test-management cycle includes the following

  • Unit Testing – At this stage each developer tests his/her developed piece of
    work against design and coding standards.
  • System Testing – In this stage a tester test individual sub systems of a larger system on the basis of technical and functional requirements.
  • Functional Testing – The same group of software test specialists ensure that
    the developed system completely satisfies all functional and business
  • Regression Testing – If the testing team receives a patch for a bug fix, then
    in addition to verifying the reported bug, it performs regression testing for that
    patch so that any ripple effect occurring consequent to fixing of the bug may
    be detected.
  • Integration Testing – After successful functional testing, all sub-systems are integrated to form the complete system and then it is ensured that the whole
    system works to the standards of functionality demanded by the business.
  • Stress/Load Testing – These special testing forms are more important for
    those applications that are to be run on either the internet or an intranet. In Stress/Load Testing, the application is tested under extraordinary network
    load (i.e. increased network load that is created through manual or automated means)
  • Shipment Assurance – This phase is a final check that every thing is in place
    and the application is ready for shipment.

Software testing is performed according to a predefined test plan that is prepared as part of the project plan and is refined as the testing process continues.

The test plan has two important sections that encompass the whole testing activity.
These are:

  • Preparing Scenario Listing – All possible testing scenarios are identified and documented and it is ensured that no potential scenario is ignored.\
  • Preparing Test Case Document – Each Scenario in the scenario matrix
    leads to a test case that details the plan on how the particular scenario would
    be performed, tested and documented. The following kinds of test cases are developed:
    • Positive Test Cases - In these test cases, scenarios are tested with
      valid logical data, prepared according to the particular business domain.
    • Negative Test Cases – In these test cases, scenarios are tested with invalid logical data.
    • Destructive Test Cases – In these test cases, scenarios are tested
       with destructive data (i.e. entering maximum length for a field etc…)
    • Verification Test Cases/Checklists – This is a check-list developed
      using business and functional requirements specifications, and data
      collected through prototype and extensive domain research.
Home | Articles | Careers | News | Contact Us | Copyrights 2006 - All rights reserved